Riverheart

“The River Magic is not metaphorical – it is liquid magic that flows in and beyond time and space; let it run through you, its powerful currents sweeping you off your feet.”

For a split second, I could feel a tugging on my limbs, a ripple in my clothes, a wetness in the air.

“Every time you cling on to your rational mind, your logic, you are dragging yourself down to the riverbed, where there is no power. Relinquish control. Forget everything you once held true. Let the river course through you.”

And then I could feel it.

I lost balance, as if a wall of energy had pushed me from behind; as I tried to stand back up, the energy kept pushing and pushing, endlessly surging…like a river. I crouched low, and beads of perspiration soon formed from the constant muscle tension required to maintain balance. To my wonder, the beads of sweat started to roll horizontally, along the direction of the River. Every movement now seemed restricted, the River’s perpetual flow guiding me: some motions felt right, as I moved with the Riverflow; others felt wrong, pushing against the current.

I had always imagined magic to be a force that flows in my veins once I had mastered it, but at this moment, I realized just how wrong I was; my blood flowed within the River Magic, as the living water became my new lifeblood, coursing through my arteries. I realized that there were tangible currents in the River, threads of lesser magic interspersed with trails of raw power. Tendrils of some other dynamic force wrapped themselves around my ankles, like so much verdant seaweed.

“You feel it, don’t you?”

I couldn’t help but grin in response. It felt invigorating, rejuvenating – a freshness that gave my eyes new light, my feet new strength. Breathing no longer granted me mere survival – each breath was a tsunami of abundant life, the River so impossibly thick as it flooded my nostrils, my throat, my lungs.

There was no other way to put it: I was drowning in magic, drowning in life itself.

“Soon, your heart will be pumping Riverwater – that is what we call a Riverheart.”

Riverheart.

It had a nice ring to it.

 

 

© David Lui, 2017. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this site’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to David Lui and Shore of Sanity with specific direction to the original content.

Leave a Reply

