Force of Habit

Ever since starting this blog/experiment, I have felt the engine of creativity pumping in my heart again, chugging and whirring whenever my mind was unoccupied: words and sentences and rhymes swirl around in the expanse, forming a billion trillion combinations of their own until I pluck them out and rearrange them.

I love it.

And so I have made the resolution (all the best resolutions come after January I suppose) to make at least one blog post a day. I must write something – anything – every single day to impose a force of habit. I cannot waste my capacity for composition, for my own sake and for my dear readers.

In my opinion, blog posts purely about myself are largely useless to readers. So I hereby challenge you to enforce your own habit. What is something that you’ve always wanted to do, but haven’t found the time to? It can be something small, like starting a small windowsill garden, or in my case, writing a book (for that is my ultimate goal). Then, just start doing it. It can be any related activity, as long as it segues into your ultimate goal. If you want some input from me, please leave a comment.

The tough love of “just do it” is tough indeed, almost to the point of ruthlessness. I know there must be a plethora of difficulties and hurdles that stand in your way, but think about it: if you never take the first step, when will you ever reach your destination? For me, it has always been about a fear of commitment and failure. I couldn’t fill a single page with engaging content, let alone an entire book! If I had let that fear continue until my 30s, 40s, 50s, when would the cycle be broken? Even if my fear was unjustified, irrational, and false, I would never know. Right now, through this blog, I have come to realize that not everything I write has to be (or will be) perfect. But, like muscle training, if I persist in training my “writing muscles”, I can do nothing but improve. Take Van Gogh: I believe his greatness lies not in his fame (for it was posthumous), but in the fact that he painted incessantly throughout his entire life. And his painting style changed many times! He tried sketching, oils, and watercolors. And when a style didn’t work for him, he improved, he was willing to change.

I’m confident that you and me, we’re going to achieve greatness to some degree. But greatness is not a sprint, but rather a marathon: we must take it one step at a time, one day at a time. If you’ve read thus far, stop reading, get off the internet, and just do it. It can be the smallest step, even a millimeter from where you are now, and guess what? You would have moved forward.

Nobody considers one a large or significant number, yet the distance between zero and one is the greatest distance possible between two whole numbers: it is the distance between absolute nothingness and something. Let’s say your ultimate goal is a ten: don’t aim for a ten, just aim for the one. The distance between one and two is just another one (which means it gets easier and easier).

Take it

one

at

a

time.

Leave a Reply

