Sanity’s Shore (prequel)

Mindless fingers traced my face

Down

Marveled at the lips dried

Up

Wondering what realities were

Left

In this world of mine, (what’s wrong, what’s

Right)

 

Each wave a watery remembrance

Of memories long gone

Ripples radiating from frozen pond

Distant shores echo

With the endless tide

In love, and out,

In sane, and out

Swish, swish, swish, swish,

Tide in, tide out

You scream, you shout

Be still, look about

Do you perceive the boundless horizon?

Do you acknowledge its endlessness

This solitude of your mind?

Or are you afraid to venture out

Haunted by what you may find?

 

[circa 2012]

© David Lui, 2017. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this site’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to David Lui and Shore of Sanity with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

3 thoughts on “Sanity’s Shore (prequel)

  1. Hello, I just read your poem (of course) and I’ve been imagining visual and tunes at the back of my head since. This is stuff worth reading. This is art, and art should be transformed.
    I just wanted to ask if it would be okay, if I turned this poem into a song. It’s not like I upload songs or am a struggling musician, but I’m kinda doing this thing where I turn novels into poems and then songs. I’ll keep doing this till I find the right opportunity to expose it all. And surely, if you permit me to do this, you will be credited. I mean, I can’t even imagine not doing so. So please let me know.

    Like

    1. Confession: I write my best poems by rapping them in my mind, with a specific beat, but no specific tune. I am beyond flattered that, in some way, that music has reached your heart too. All I ask is proper accreditation, and that you will share your song with me once it is finished. I await its completion with bated breath.

      Like

Leave a Reply

